Conflict Resolution Through Social Media Is Weak

It truly baffles me how little people, in this day and age, communicate. That’s right, how little. With all the texting, tweeting (ugh, don’t get me started on twitter) emailing, blogging and facebooking, there seems to be little room for face to face communication.

I admit, I’m terrible for texting. I love to text. But I also love talking to people. I love getting down to the nitty gritty, much to everyone’s discomfort. I like looking someone in the eye and asking them all about what goes on in their mind, sex life, motivations, goals. Anything goes. I like to see people’s reactions to the things I ask.

As for confrontation, I would much rather face someone in person than hide behind a text or an email. Especially if someone is mad at me (for whatever reason, but these days I seem to be pissing a lot of people off) I would rather them tell me in person why it is they think I’m an asshole. While they’re at it, they can tell me what I can do to fix it, and I can give them the apology that they deserve.

I just feel it’s really lame to hide behind this technology and avoid any situations that might force you to grow as a person. It’s easy to ignore a text, delete an email, or block someone from facebook and then never actually deal with a problem.

I was looking at a site earlier, called Letters to Crushes, which is a really cute site (the hopeless romantic in me can’t get enough), but honestly, it’s really lame. Why can’t these people just grab their ball sacks (or respective pieces) and just tell the person that they like them? Or ask them to out for coffee or the movies?

When I was in grade 6, and it was our first year of middle school, I saw a boy that I thought was so cute. In fact, at the lunch hour, I gathered up a group of my friends to hunt him down with me. We finally found him. It almost looked like a fight in the school yard because I was facing him, with my friends standing behind me, and he was facing me, with all his friends backing him.

“Hey, I think you’re pretty cute, did you want to go out with me?” (I had never done this before. Clearly.)

“Uh,” he mumbled, then turned to his friend and told him that I was pretty ugly. It was probably the monster zit I had that had taken up residence beside my nose. Obviously.

I was crushed. But at least I heard it from his mouth, and not someone else’s.

How can people learn to deal with conflict when they avoid it through social media? How does that bode for future generations of our children who have no concept of how to deal with their issues face-to-face?

If I ever got an email for a breakup, I would think that person an utter coward and would go out of my way to find them in person so they could say it to my face. Luckily I don’t have to worry about that. But the principle remains!

4 responses to “Conflict Resolution Through Social Media Is Weak

  1. I can’t believe these words were written by somebody other than me, honestly, it’s mildly shocking. And a female, at that.

    I tell you what, you point me in the direction of a single version of you, only my age, and you can have all the what-ever-the-fuck-you-want.. forever.

Leave a Reply

