Serendipity and Social Media

The concept of dating seems so foreign to me. I couldn’t imagine what it would be like to have to start everything all over again. For all my talk of heart break and leaving my husband, we’re still united. I post a lot about our fights and don’t post so much about the good stuff. I’ve always been that way with journaling (blogging?), getting out all the shit, purging my soul. Maybe if I get the negativity out, it will make more room for the positive?

Sometimes I envy my single friends. They can make their own schedules, do things when the feel like it. They don’t have to worry about holding anyone up, they can just be. They can date, and interview those who might become their potential life mate.

I’m always torn when it comes to online dating. The old-school part of me thinks it’s ludicrous that someone would rely on the internet to find them a match. What ever happened to serendipity? What ever happened to bumping into someone at the grocery store, or at a random party that you decided to go to at the last minute? Why are people replacing serendipity with social media like dating websites?

The other part of me, though, thinks that this is the best idea since sliced bread. How much more awesome can it get than to create a profile, explaining who you are and what you like, and setting up matches with people who enjoy simliar things? Don’t get me wrong, I’ve seen enough of my friends go through the online dating sites that I know it’s not perfect, but it definitely gives you an advantage for meeting people with similar interests.

I always like to imagine what I would put on a profile. Would I come off sounding psycho if I tried to be too funny? Laid too many rules?

                                What do you think? What would you think if you read this online dating profile?

I am Seeking a man For Dating
Needs Test Not Completed Chemistry View her chemistry results
Do you drink? Socially Do you want children? Does not want more children
Marital Status Single Do you do drugs? No
Pets Cat & Dog Eye Color Brown
Profession Retail (ugh) Do you have children? Yes
Education College graduate Do you have a car? Yes

About Me:
Smokers Need Not Apply.

Life is an adventure and I am a hedonist at heart. I love hiking in the hills and forests. I love wine-filled conversations that last deep into the night and once in a while I enjoy a cathartic cry.

I also enjoy reading, particularly fantasy, because it’s the best way to escape the banalities of real life. I believe that life should be a learning experience, and I try to experience as much as I can to see what I can learn from it;  The good, the bad and the ugly. I enjoy meeting new people and I’m honest with my opinions. I don’t believe in awkward situations, and if we’re on a date and I’m not feeling it, I’m definitely going to mention it. That way, we can both GTFO instead of staying on a date that neither of us wants to be on. People are strange creatures, and will do strange things in the name of social etiquette. That’s just not how I roll.

I’m looking for a parter who is willing to let go and relax, take it all in stride and roll with the punches. I like to fly by the seat of my pants and I want someone who will grab on for the ride. I also need someone with an uproarious sense of humour. We need to be able to laugh together if anything is ever going to work between us.

First Date:
You pay for drinks while I get annihilated. We go back to my place and watch The Notebook and you hold me while I sob cathartically. Best. Night. Ever. No?Fiiine. A first date would have to include indulging in a great meal, preferably with drinks. Great conversation is a must and hopefully it won’t lead to sex. Anticipation is the best part of getting to know someone and I will not ruin that by putting out on the first date. If you want this, you gotta work for it. Other ideas for a first date could include (but are not limited to) swimming, skating, biking, hiking, or a picnic.

Leave a Reply

