Edited to Add an Update to Dysfunctional Sibling Rivalry

In relation to my previous post, Dysfunctional Sibling Rivalry, my husband was out tonight while all this stuff happened. He called when he was on his way home and asked me to tell him a story. I told him about what happened with my brother. He told me he’d see me at home.

My husband came home and played on his computer while me and my oldest daughter were watching some television. When she went up to bed, while still staring at his computer screen, my husband nonchalantly mentions that he stopped by my family’s place to talk to my brother. My jaw practically hit the floor.

I guess he went down to the basement where my brother was passed out and turned off the television and woke him up. He told him that he knows I can be annoying as shit, and that sometimes he’ll want to strangle me, but it’s no excuse for what he did. I guess my brother tried to mumble some excuse about there being so much confusion in the house with all the kids and the noise, and my husband told him to shut up.

“I don’t want to hear it.”

He told my brother that something like this would never happen again, and if it did, he would regret it. He didn’t get into detail, he just said what needed to be said. He wished my brother a good evening and left.

I can’t believe  my husband stood up for me like that! I told my sister and she was definitely impressed, but wondered why he doesn’t stand up for me in our relationship. Perhaps a whole new can of worms to dissect at a later date.

I have to say, I’m definitely very grateful that my husband stood up for me. It meant the world to me. I think it beats the ‘conversation’ or whatever, that my dad had with brother, where they most likely discussed the situation but didn’t decide on any kind of resolution.

I’m pleasantly surprised.

I’m also very curious to see how my brother will react to me the next time we bump into each other.

Leave a Reply

